top of page

Physical Therapy & Performance Lab

Anna Ball Hodge

Run Raleigh PT has become my home away from home. I have found the best support from Abby and Kari, and I am forever grateful for their expertise. They have helped me navigate out of over 4 years of injuries and pain to finally reach a point where I can run again. Before I found Run Raleigh PT, I had started to doubt that I would ever be able to return to running. They changed my perspective and gave me hope that I could recover and not only run again, but be a stronger runner than I have ever been.

I have been running for over 20 years, it is part of my DNA. Many miles and many years of ignoring small signs and not listening to my body finally got the best of me. It all came to a crux 4 years ago with hip, back, and nerve pain that ultimately led to my body settling into a chronic state of inflammation. Overcoming the pain became a part-time job for me as I was determined to arm myself with knowledge - I spent numerous sleepless nights googling symptoms, learning anatomy, self-educating about injuries, etc. I bounced from doctor to doctor - 5 physical therapists, 3 chiropractors, an orthopedic surgeon, a neurologist, and a physiotherapist – most of who would finally shake their heads and say they were out of options. I had been dry needled by five people, received countless cortisone injections in different joints, had two rounds of PRP, numerous MRIs and X-rays, deep tissue massage, A-stym, E-stim, ultrasounds, laser and more.

Finally in the spring of 2015, I was referred to Abby by my orthopedist. I came to her on the brink of tears, defeated and frustrated. I told her that I was running out of hope and I literally begged her to help me. After the first five minutes of meeting Abby, I knew I was in the right hands. She put me at ease and assured me that we could get to the bottom of what was going on. She listened to my journey, understood my frustration, and ultimately offered a new perspective on the root of my pain, one that no one had mentioned before. Thus began a new course of treatment – she started with my back, realizing that all of my leg pain and imbalances were neural instead of muscular, stemming from L5/SI. She realized that she would need to start there and through therapy and strength, I would gradually redevelop healthy neuromuscular signals. Abby invested in my journey and assured me that she would not give up. She was just as determined as I was to figure it out. Through the process, Abby sought additional support from a physiotherapist and an orthopedic surgeon to all consult in my treatment. She took the lead in being the primary “expert” of my progress and treatment but welcomed collaboration and communication. She also valued my input and knowledge, which was hugely important to me. In addition, she and Karri helped me develop the strength component to my healing. I learned how to incorporate Redcord and core exercises into my daily regimen. It was a slow process because the lower left side of my body had lost normal neuromuscular function, so we had to retrain. It has taken me over a year to finally feel some firing on that side! I also did the 3D gait analysis and Abby offered feedback on how to improve my running form by making slight adjustments to my arm carry, foot placement, and head position – all to be more efficient and less injury prone. Abby has become not only my physical therapist, but she is a confidante, coach, and friend. She has helped me gradually get back to running consistently and even encourages me to start racing. Without her positive support and unmatchable expertise, I would not be where I am today. What sets Abby apart from any other doctor or therapist is that she understands the female runner psyche. As a runner herself and a physical therapist, she has made it her mission to be a running expert, spending years studying the science of the sport, gait analysis, training, etc. Most importantly, Abby appreciates that running is just as much mental as it is physical. She values a runner’s unique dedication, persistence, and need to stay active and healthy. This is the single most valuable aspect of Abby’s care. I am proud to be a patient at Run Raleigh PT!


RECENT POST
bottom of page