top of page

Physical Therapy & Performance Lab

From Re-hab to Pre-Hab with Dan Hirschman

Stepping inside of a Physical Therapy clinic can feel like a drag. We are there because you are injured. We can't do what we love and typically the minute the pain subsides we are out the door and the re-hab we were doing falls to the wayside. We take for granite the healthy days but loath being on the sidelines. RunRaleigh PT takes a different approach. Running injuries are typically a result of poor mechanics or overuse and a large percentage of the time, the injuries we have are the result of the same reoccurring weaknesses. We recognize this fact and therefore not only want to re-hab our patients but prepare them to stay injury free in the future. Recently, a local Masters Marathoner chasing a BQ walked through our doors with a nagging hamstring injury. After a a season scarred by hamstring issues leading into a derailed marathon, he decided to seek help. After 4 months with Abby Douek, he is back and better than ever. We have all the confidence in the world that his BQ is on the Horizon! Meet Dan Hirschman:

When did you start working with Abby and for what?

Dan: I started working with Abby in the Spring of 2017 to address a hamstring issue that bothered me throughout marathon training and then ended up completely derailing my race. The hamstring was also related to a long-standing low back nerve impingement issue. All of this is also tied in with my running form.

What treatments did she do?

Dan: Abby first did a full assessment, including a gait analysis. Then she did a series of dry needling sessions along with manual therapy, gave me a series of exercises to do on my own, taught me proper foam-rolling technique, and also gave me a series of warm-up drills to perform before every run. After the first few sessions of dry-needling, she transitioned to only manual therapy. Abby also did a follow-up gait analysis to see how I'd progressed.

How often did you come in?

Dan: When the injury/problem was acute, at the beginning, I went once per week for about 3 weeks. Then, as it began to feel better, we transitioned to once every 2-3 weeks. Towards the end, I was only going about once a month to keep loose for my next race.

How quickly was your injury resolved?

Dan: Within a matter of a few weeks, I was noticeably better and by about 2 months in to the treatment, the issue was not bothering me at all.

Did Abby have you do any preventative care post injury?

Dan: Yes. Even after the issue was alleviated, I continued to see her throughout the remainder of my next marathon training cycle. The preventative manual therapy, along with consistently doing the exercises and drills Abby prescribed, kept me loose and injury free through my race. I ended up having a strong performance which would not have been possible without Abby's help!

Anything else of interest you would like to share?

Dan: Abby is the best. Her knowledge and understanding of the runner's body is amazing. She is thoughtful in her approach, looking at the runner holistically to understand and address the underlying issues that are leading to injury, instead of focusing only on treating the symptoms the runner may be complaining about. Her treatments were spot on, and not only did she help me get back to injury-free running, but she also helped me become a stronger more efficient runner.

What are your big running goals?

Dan: The big one for me is to run the Boston Marathon (I've qualified in each of the last two years, but then ended up just short of the registration cutoff both times). The second goal is go sub-3:10 in the marathon (current PR Is 3:12 and change). If I accomplish the latter, the former will take care of itself by a long shot (my BQ time just increased to 3:25... one of the few benefits of being an aging runner). The third goal (and probably most important), is to stay healthy in my masters years so I can run well and enjoy running for life.

Dan's next big race will be the Myrtle Beach Marathon in March 2018. We are excited to follow his progress as he prepares to go after some big goals. We Loved being a part of his journey to happy and healthy running for life. Here's to big things in 2018!


RECENT POST
bottom of page